Biblio Update in Progress

Our colleague Paul Newman has sent us the following notice:

The Comprehensive Chadic/Hausa Bibliography (version 3 [2015]) is available open access at IUScholarWorks http://hdl.handle.net/2022/20576.  I am currently working on a new, updated and corrected version, hopefully to appear in early 2018.  If any of you have new items that you would like to include, or if you notice errors in the current version, I would be grateful if you could provide me with the appropriate information. I am particularly interested in book reviews you have written or reviews of your works that have been reviewed by others since this information often slips by unnoticed. My email address is pnxxpn at indiana.edu.

Don’t worry about formatting: however you do things is fine with me as long as the information is full and accurate. I would, however, like to make two requests:

(1) In citing names of authors or editors, please spell out the first names rather than using initials.

(2) If titles are in languages other than English, French, or German (e.g., Polish, Italian, or Hausa) please provide an English translation.

Finally, I should mention that this is the final version of the biblio that I shall be doing. Once this version is out, I shall be putting this work aside. Whether future updates appear or not depends on whether anyone else is willing to step up and take on the task. The work is not onerous, but it is not trivial: it does require a serious commitment on someone’s part. Essential qualifications include proficiency in English, good reading knowledge of French and German, access to a good library and internet resources, familiarity with (or willingness to learn) biblio database management, and a real interest in bibliography work. If any individuals (or teams) wish to discuss the possibility of assuming this task, please drop me a note.

Paul Newman
pnxxpn at indiana.edu

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.