Future of BICCL and the related publication series

The  ‘Permanent Committee’ for the Biennial Colloquium on the Chadic Languages (BICCL) has issued the following announcement concerning the future handling of BICCL and the publication series Chadic Linguistics – Linguistique Tchadique – Tschadistik:

The ‘Biennial International Colloquium on the Chadic Languages (BICCL)’ was initiated and jointly run by its ‘Permanent Committee’, which currently consists of Dymitr Ibriszimow (Lehrstuhl Afrikanistik II, University of Bayreuth), Henry Tourneux (LLACAN/CNRS-INALCO Villejuif) and H. Ekkehard Wolff (formerly Lehrstuhl Afrikanistik, University of Leipzig).

The first Colloquium took place in Leipzig in 2001, followed by Prague (2003), Villejuif (2005), Bayreuth (2007), Leipzig (2009), Villejuif (2011), Hamburg (2013), Bayreuth (2015/16), and Villejuif (2017). The ‘Permanent Committee’ established and edited the series ‘Chadic Linguistics – Linguistique Tchadique – Tschadistik’, which is published by Rüdiger Köppe, Cologne. It regularly contains selected presentations from the meetings (‘Topics in Chadic Linguistics’ I – VII), but is also open for other contributions relating to Chadic languages and linguistics.

The current members of the BICCL ‘Permanent Committee’ wish to announce to the scientific community that they are handing over their responsibilities to Yvonne Treis (LLACAN/CNRS-INALCO Villejuif), Henning Schreiber (Hamburg University) and Georg Ziegelmeyer (University of Vienna), starting with the preparations for the 10th BICCL to be held in Hamburg in 2019.

As regards the series Chadic Linguistics – Linguistique Tchadique – Tschadistik, the outgoing members of the BICCL ‘Permanent Committee’ retain joint responsibility as series editors until three more issues, which are currently under preparation, will have been published: Vol. 9 (papers from BICCL 2013 in Hamburg), Vol. 10 (papers from BICCL 2015/16 in Bayreuth), and Vol. 11 (papers from BICCL 2017 in Villejuif). From Vol. 12 onwards, editorial responsibility for the series will rest with the publisher Rüdiger Köppe.

September, 2017
Dymitr Ibriszimow
Henry Tourneux
H. Ekkehard Wolff


Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: